Saturday, March 30, 2013

Saturday, March 9, 2013


Uncomfortably close encounters.

Saturday, March 2, 2013

The Truth Garden

The Truth Garden by Emma Neale
Otago University Press 2012

Poet and novelist Emma Neale, winner of the Kathleen Grattan Award for Poetry 2011, was Robert Burns Fellow 2012, inaugural holder of the NZSA Janet Frame Memorial Award for Literature (2008) and is the author of five novels (all published by Random House), four collections of poetry, the latest of which is pictured above (with a beautiful cover illustration by artist Kathryn Madill). She has edited three anthologies and her work has appeared in numerous periodicals and anthologies. Her most recent novel Fosterling was shortlisted for the Sir Julius Vogel Award for Science Fiction and Fantasy. She has won the Takahe Poetry Competition (2008) and been awarded a Todd New Writers Bursary (2000).

Emma Neale is another fine South island writer who is very much a part of the contemporary New Zealand literary scene, but, not as it is apparently defined from within the narrow perspective of the ivory towers of Wellington. In reviewing Fosterling (2011), Paula Green noted "I do think Neale is one of those New Zealand writers who has undeservedly fallen under the radar. Fosterling is testament to her virtuosity with words. She writes with intelligence, heart and a poet's lyricism. Highly recommended."

Meanwhile, while the offical record book radar coverage of New Zealand Literature is out of commission and being upgraded, let us watch Emma Neale's audience continue to grow...

March is New Zealand Book Month - support New Zealand books!
Pick up your $5 voucher, see the website for details: