Tuesday, August 4, 2009

Roll of Honour

Congratulations and Admiration are due to those NZ Citizens who declined to accept the retrospective application of a British Imperial title to the Popular honour bestowed upon them by the people of New Zealand.

Titular honours were abolished by the Labour-led Government in 1999, but extreme right wing Prime Minister John Key who continues to masquerade as Labour lite, announced in March they would be reinstated.

Those made Principal or Distinguished Companions of the New Zealand Order of Merit (PCNZM or DCNZM) since 2000 could opt to be known as Sir or Dame.

Among those who resisted the seductive honour (see the list here), were magnificent authors JOY COWLEY, VINCENT O'SULLIVAN, WITI IHIMAERA and PATRICIA GRACE, along with actor SAM NEILL.

Good on you, Citizens. Respect.

No comments: